top of page

DOEZUM, ONCE UPON A FARM

Ahhhh Doezum... It was a pleasure to come back in this magic place. The first time I was there, was last summer, I came for 8 days to work at the farm by woofing.com and it was my first real contact with dutch people. I usually stayed few days in Amsterdam but I needed to see more. As I love countryside, the woofing by summer was a great option ! There where a sort of instantaneous connection with Herman and Jolanda, a mutual trust and a common way to abord life and the nature. They introduced me to a lot of local producers, made me tasted organic products of Friesland, and treated me as a member of their own family. And we keeped contact since. When I decided to plan my roadtrip, I had to came back in Doezum ! This was two amazing days with simple things : eating a home made Duck paté, feeding the animals with the morning lights and the frysian landscape, visiting old churches all around the province, listening the Friesland’s Stories about captain Top and the 22 sailors deads to get fish for their village, visiting a seabuckthorn producer and a fisherman (tasting oisters also !), eating organic apples on the way listening Gilbert Bécault in solidarity with french people (this summer all medias were talking about Greece financial problems so we used to listen greek music very loud in the car to show our support, because of the Paris Attacks, Bécault was a great choice)... That’s probably why I like so much to come to see Herman and Jolanda : they know the value of the little things of life, from admiring the lights to enjoy a dinner.




bottom of page